Raith Rovers earn important three points amid relegation battle

Raith Rovers sealed a crucial win after defeating play off contenders Greenock Morton by two goals to nil at Stark’s Park this afternoon.

The Kirkcaldy side felt the pressure early on from the away team, but the home side took the lead after 27 minutes. Craig Barr headed the ball in from a corner kick. Around five minutes later, Ryan Hardie nearly handed the home side a two goal lead.

The relegation battlers retained a one goal lead going into the second half. Kudus Oyenuga of Morton hit the post after receiving the ball from a cross by Jamie McDonagh.

However, Ross Matthews doubled the lead for the home side on the 58th minute. With under twenty minutes left, Danny Handling nearly put Raith three goals ahead.

Morton’s John Scullion hit the post after taking a free kick from outside the eighteen yard box. Raith’s Rudi Skacel went wide for the home side with around fifteen minutes before the end of the game.

Raith Rovers’ win this afternoon meant the pressure eased off them in their battle to beat relegation to Scottish League One. The Kirkcaldy side are now seventh in the Scottish Championship table tonight and one point above ninth placed Dumbarton. Morton remain fourth and are still widely expected to participate in the play offs for a place in the Scottish Premeirship.


GOALS: Raith Rovers – Craig Barr (27 mins) and Ross Matthews (58 mins)

KICK-OFF: 3:00pm (UK time)


RAITH ROVERS: Pavol Penksa, Jason Thomson (C), Kevin McHattie, Jean-Yves M’Voto, Chris Johnston, Ross Matthews, Iain Davidson, Rudi Skacel, Danny Handling, Ryan Hardie, Craig Barr

GREENOCK MORTON: Derek Gaston, Lee Kilday (C), Ricki Lamie, Thomas O’Ware, Gary Oliver, Ross Forbes, Kudus Oyenuga, Jamie Lindsay, Aiden Nesbitt, Jamie McDonagh, Andrew Murdoch


RAITH ROVERS: Conor Brennan, Mark Stewart (79 mins, on for D Handling), Bobby Barr (57 mins, on for C Johnson), Jonny Court, Kyle Benedictus, Jordan Thompson, Declan McManus (63 mins, on for R Hardie)

GREENOCK MORTON: Jamie McGowan, Michael Doyle, Michael Tidser (63 mins, on for J Lindsay), John Scullion, Lawrence Shankland (77 mins, on for G Oliver), Mark Russell, Luke Donnelly


Alan Newlands


Andrew McWilliam

Steven Traynor

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s